You’ve heard it from your friends, family and in the media. You may have that friend of yours who may have never mentioned a word that even sounded like gluten, but now it rules the discussion. What is gluten, then? Gluten is a protein and it is found in grains such as wheat, barley, rye, and a cross between wheat and rye called triticale. Those grains are fairly ubiquitous in all manner of dishes, so if it is avoided, it cuts out a fair number of dinner options. Who is affected by gluten may be the next thing you are wondering. For those with celiac disease, it’s a matter of avoiding real disease symptoms and serious consequences. The select group of people with this disease are not being picky when they turn these foods away. There are, however, people who do not have celiac disease who have some exposures to uncomfortable symptoms. This is called non-celiac gluten sensitivity. Others may feel that it’s solely a dietary option for their individual health goals, while not truly affected by symptoms. So, what is allowed with a gluten free diet?
- Natural Beans, seeds and nuts.
- Fruits and vegetables
- Meats, fish and poultry (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated)
- Most dairy products
Trackback from your site.